Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Reality or Excuses???

So I haven't posted in about 2 weeks. I am now down 29.8 lbs. I guess I should have taken my socks off when I weighed in Saturday and I could have lost the other .2lbs to make 30 lbs. Maybe I will do that this weekend. :)
Reality or Excuses? Why in the world did I choose that heading? I AM HUNGRY..... I haven't been hungry for the last 8 weeks, so why am I all of a sudden starving at ALL hours of the day? Am I really hungry? I think so, usually when my stomach growls that means hunger. I have told myself that I have built up enough muscle, from working out, that it has "kicked" my metabolism up another level and I am burning more calories. That's what I hear happens when you build muscle...or am I losing control and thinking that I am hungry? So, of course, like any obese person, I opt with the muscle theory and ate brownies and Zaxby's Sunday night - not our normal eat out night. Psssttt...I ate Chef Boyardee and brownies on Sat night too. :(
So, I did like my WW leader tells us...GET OVER IT and start back over the next day. I did. I stayed hungry on Monday. then, Tuesday comes around. At the end of the school day I was starving. I ate 2 Fibre One bars. Not bad, right....well as I was cooking supper I "munched" on about half a box of Cheez Nips - love those cheez nips. Oh, and I ate the rest of the frosting that I had bought this weekend for the brownies - I told myself that I needed to get it out of the house so I wouldn't be tempted to eat it - what an excuse.
I have started over AGAIN and have done quite well so far. I took popcorn for my afternoon snack.
My goal, now that I have net my 5%, 10%, and 25 lb loss, is to go 16 weeks without a gain. I am at 9 weeks so far. I so hope that me getting off track does not make me gain weight. Surely one or two slip ups can't be that bad? right?
I read the perfect article in the WW magazine the other day. There was an article on a lady who had lost 206 lbs. She is my height and was about the same weight. She said that her biggest obstacle was realizing that this is a life change and that she would mess up with her eating. She said that she had to learn that it was OK to slip up, but she immediately had to forgive and forget and get back on track the next day. Then she made the comment...like, if you eat a box of doughnuts, forget about it and get back on track the next day... It made me feel "human" to read that someone else had encountered what I am encountering now. Its good to know that I am not some 'freak" because I do splurge on things sometimes. I have to tell myself every day that it is ok and I am a work in progress.

No comments: